East Ruston Cottages Reviews

18 Reviews


Sarah, May 2019

Our 2nd visit to the lovely comfortable Heather cottage. Ideally situated in the village with an easy walk to the beach and a stones throw from the pub.

Exceptionally dog friendly accommodation, East Ruston cottages are the best! Dog throws, towels, bowls, brushes provided plus some lovely homemade dog biscuits. Our dogs were made us welcome as us! Excellent.

We have already booked again for next year.


Catherine, July 2019

We are recently back from a short break at Corner Cottage in Lessingham. It’s our third stay with East Ruston, and this accommodation did not disappoint, in fact, it’s now been promoted to my favourite. Such a beautiful location with minimal traffic, and walking distance to the local pub, where dogs are welcome .

The accommodation was exceptionally clean and so well appointed. Three double bedrooms plus a single. For those of you who love to cook, the kitchen has everything that you might wish to use, and more!

We ate outside, even breakfast while we were there.

It was just fantastic and I can heartily recommend it, although please leave some space for me!


Anne, August 2019

Another excellent East Ruston Cottages stay from 27th July to 3rd August - our second visit to Holmes House. We thoroughly enjoyed our week with plenty of countryside walks direct from cottage and beach walks within a few minutes drive. Holmes House has everything you need for a great week away and in a fabulously quiet setting.

We've been visiting beautiful Norfolk with our dogs since 2014 and have stayed with varying family members, or just the two of us, at I think 8 East Ruston Cottages on all 12 occasions - and have a further two visits booked for this year. I think this says it all for the quality and diversity of the cottages Sue manages, her enthusiasm and hard work, and of course that of all the owners. We can't wait for our next stay!


Anne Marie, August 2019

They offer amazing facilities and provide everything you need. Nothing is too much trouble.


Danielle, August 2019

Fabulous cottage with super friendly and helpful owners. Everything you could ever possibly need for your dog is included - lots of beds, blankets, towels, bowls, treats, poo bags etc the list goes on. As well as the secure courtyard there is also a paddock where the dogs can have a run around and toilet. The cleaners must be fab as the place was spotless - not a dog hair in sight when we arrived . I can not recommend it highly enough our whippets loved it!


Anne, September 2019

We had a fantastic week at The Walnut - a beautiful converted barn with a hot tub. Brilliant service as always from Sue at ERC who always goes that extra mile, and from Stella and Paul, the lovely barn owners. The barn is in a great location and is really well appointed with lots of little extras which add to your stay and both dogs and humans have everything needed for a relaxing break. Our dog settled in straightaway and was more than happy to curl on the sofas whilst we enjoyed the (extremely well maintained) hot tub - which was a great way to relax after walking and cycling around the area. The peace of just sitting and looking at the fields and wildlife whilst in the hot tub or on the outdoor sofas was just perfect. We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary whilst there and were extremely touched by the personalised touches which Stella and Paul (and Sue) provided. Exceptional pub, The Star, with great food within walking distance. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we hope to return.


michelle, September 2019

Our second visit to an East Ruston cottage. This time it was Heather Cottage right in the heart of Happisburgh. A 5 min walk to the beach and 1 min walk to the dog friendly Hill House which has great food and beer! The cottage is v dog friendly with an enclosed garden and hard flooring throughout ground floor. Doggies get free dog biscuits handmade locally and mine loved them! The beach walks are great when the tide is out you can access up to Bacton and down to Cart gap where there is a cafe , smallsticks, on the road out of cart gap. The owner leaves high tide times on board in cottage we are very useful. A visit up the church tower gives great views open sun pm until end of October and lighthouse in summer most weekends or possible private viewing if it can be arranged. Further afield there are many great walks and sites to see in this dog friendly locale .


Jacky, October 2019

We stayed at the lovely Chapel Cottage is Lessingham.....such a lovely well equipped cottage....extremely clean...beds super comfy....super enclosed garden for the dogs....the shower wow....a gorgeous welcome pack too thank you...very close to many good beaches but sea palling which was closest to the cottage was our favourite so clean and calm could walk and did walk for hours....cant wait to stay again...thank you!! X


Louise, October 2019

We stayed at The Lodge for a week from 21 Sept to 28 Sept located in East Ruston. We had a fabulous week with lots of great dog friendly beaches nearby, parks to walk in and other walks all local.

The Lodge itself is great for dogs and has a fully enclosed garden but I would say one of the gates could be jumped over if you have an escape artist but ours never bothered. It's quiet with very little to bother us and our doggy. We felt a week wasn't long enough and wish we had booked longer. Lots of things to see and do with your four legged friends.


Carol, October 2019

Just had our 5th visit to Holmes House Pete and our 4 border collies enjoyed our week again. Lovely house and walks close by. Beach and sand dunes and some lovely meals out. Waiting for next year now.


sue, October 2019

A lovely week in the lodge. Secure garden and everything you need for a dog friendly stay. Bowls towels dog shower. Nearby beaches and the weavers way. Everyone so friendly.


Hayley, November 2019

Hidden Gem is a very special hideaway from all the stresses of the world. This property is just gorgeous and so lovely that everything for the dogs is also taken into account too with plenty of throws and dog towels provided.

A highlight for me was that the back double bedroom overlooks the dunes and just having the windows open and listening to the sound of the wind through the grasses combined with the sound of the sea is magical both in the day and at night to drift off to sleep to. The house has everything thought of for you and is very nicely decorated throughout. We all adored walking straight out onto the dunes from morning through to night for our dog walks and being so close to the sea is a bonus for those long, leisurely beach walks.

Lovely to have a cafe, tearoom and pub all in the village itself and all accepting and accommodating dogs whilst providing some gorgeous food too!

Nearby villages are easy to get to both by foot and car (depending on how energetic you're feeling).

This holiday had everything we could have wanted and more, so nice to also have a little welcome tray on arrival. Ours had jam, bread, apple juice, a jam roly-poly sponge and some Nero dog biscuits (which ours loved) as well as a pint of milk in the fridge and tea and coffee to get you started. It's so wonderful to walk in somewhere, instantly feel at home and to be able to have a cake and cuppa before unpacking.

Sue at East Ruston Cottages was brilliant to deal with throughout (not that we needed her whilst we were away but I'm sure if we had have she would have helped out without hesitation). The feeling we got was that Sue at East Ruston Cottages (and the cottage owners) go out of their way to make sure you have the most amazing holiday possible.

We will certainly be returning customers and will recommend to everyone we know

Hayley & David (Ansel and Ernie) :-)


Virya, January 2020

We had a fabulous Christmas week at St Benets. We were delighted that they were open to having 9 dogs, although in the end only 4 dogs came on holiday. There were throws so the dogs could lay on the sofas with us, a fabulous open fire that they enjoyed! And the garden was very secure which was essential to us. We were 5 mins from the sea where the dogs could run free . There was a dog bed and blankets and towels, doggie treats left too . I think the main thing was we felt we could relax totally knowing the dogs were welcome. The house was clean, very comfortable and very relaxed . Perfect for our party of 6 adults and two children aged 7 and 2, plus of course our four dogs. Thoroughly recommend the cottage and East Ruston Cottages.


Sarah Green, February 2020

Hidden Gem at Winterton-on-Sea was well named: it was a fabulous cottage backing on to the dunes. The cottage had everything we needed for a comfortable and cosy stay - even with Storm Dennis at its peak. It was warm & welcoming and even included a basket of goodies on arrival. Everything was geared up for a relaxing stay, with dogs catered for completely. I parked my car outside when we arrived and didn’t need to move it until we left the following Friday: Winterton had everything we needed right on our doorstep - a dog-friendly pub (Fisherman’s Return), two dog-friendly cafés (The Dunes & Poppy’s Tea Room), a Post Office and convenience stores & a fish & chip shop. What more could we need! The locals were friendly & welcoming too... And then there were miles and miles of unspoiled beaches and dunes to explore - utter bliss for dogs & people alike. We will definitely be back. Thank you, East Ruston Cottages!


Carol, June 2020

10 visits and counting !

I honestly cannot praise ERC and Sue enough . Having stayed in 10 different properties with ERC from the Lodge sleeping two, to most recently Thatchers sleeping 10 and many points in between, I can honestly say that they are fantastic and we have never been disappointed . Nothing is too much trouble and we have always had a comfortable and peaceful stay in all the properties . Human and canine needs are catered for superbly. Needless to say our two beagle girls love their trips to Norfolk and ERC properties . We just love ERC , and Sue is a star and always so very helpful.


Rebecca, August 2020

We have just returned from a super stay in the lovely Thatch Cottage, Lessingham. It is perfectly located for country walks, beach trips and pub lunches and we had a truly relaxing week with our three dogs. The cottage is perfectly geared up to hosting families and dogs - it is really well kitted out and has a lovely large garden. We all felt very welcome and at home.

We have stayed in several places managed by East Ruston Cottages and they have all been clean and really well-appointed. Dogs are truly welcomed and Sue is always on hand for advice if needed.


Roger Saunders, August 2020

Never been anywhere SO dog welcoming before.... my mutts loved it!


Annie Biggerstaff, August 2020

Reliably wonderful cottages, superb service


Your review here?

Have you visited East Ruston Cottages before? If so, why not consider leaving a review?

Write A Review