East Ruston Cottages Reviews

11 Reviews


Sarah, November 2019

Our 2nd visit to the lovely comfortable Heather cottage. Ideally situated in the village with an easy walk to the beach and a stones throw from the pub.

Exceptionally dog friendly accommodation, East Ruston cottages are the best! Dog throws, towels, bowls, brushes provided plus some lovely homemade dog biscuits. Our dogs were made us welcome as us! Excellent.

We have already booked again for next year.


Catherine, November 2019

We are recently back from a short break at Corner Cottage in Lessingham. It’s our third stay with East Ruston, and this accommodation did not disappoint, in fact, it’s now been promoted to my favourite. Such a beautiful location with minimal traffic, and walking distance to the local pub, where dogs are welcome .

The accommodation was exceptionally clean and so well appointed. Three double bedrooms plus a single. For those of you who love to cook, the kitchen has everything that you might wish to use, and more!

We ate outside, even breakfast while we were there.

It was just fantastic and I can heartily recommend it, although please leave some space for me!


Anne, November 2019

Another excellent East Ruston Cottages stay from 27th July to 3rd August - our second visit to Holmes House. We thoroughly enjoyed our week with plenty of countryside walks direct from cottage and beach walks within a few minutes drive. Holmes House has everything you need for a great week away and in a fabulously quiet setting.

We've been visiting beautiful Norfolk with our dogs since 2014 and have stayed with varying family members, or just the two of us, at I think 8 East Ruston Cottages on all 12 occasions - and have a further two visits booked for this year. I think this says it all for the quality and diversity of the cottages Sue manages, her enthusiasm and hard work, and of course that of all the owners. We can't wait for our next stay!


Anne Marie, November 2019

They offer amazing facilities and provide everything you need. Nothing is too much trouble.


Danielle, November 2019

Fabulous cottage with super friendly and helpful owners. Everything you could ever possibly need for your dog is included - lots of beds, blankets, towels, bowls, treats, poo bags etc the list goes on. As well as the secure courtyard there is also a paddock where the dogs can have a run around and toilet. The cleaners must be fab as the place was spotless - not a dog hair in sight when we arrived . I can not recommend it highly enough our whippets loved it!


Anne, November 2019

We had a fantastic week at The Walnut - a beautiful converted barn with a hot tub. Brilliant service as always from Sue at ERC who always goes that extra mile, and from Stella and Paul, the lovely barn owners. The barn is in a great location and is really well appointed with lots of little extras which add to your stay and both dogs and humans have everything needed for a relaxing break. Our dog settled in straightaway and was more than happy to curl on the sofas whilst we enjoyed the (extremely well maintained) hot tub - which was a great way to relax after walking and cycling around the area. The peace of just sitting and looking at the fields and wildlife whilst in the hot tub or on the outdoor sofas was just perfect. We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary whilst there and were extremely touched by the personalised touches which Stella and Paul (and Sue) provided. Exceptional pub, The Star, with great food within walking distance. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we hope to return.


michelle, November 2019

Our second visit to an East Ruston cottage. This time it was Heather Cottage right in the heart of Happisburgh. A 5 min walk to the beach and 1 min walk to the dog friendly Hill House which has great food and beer! The cottage is v dog friendly with an enclosed garden and hard flooring throughout ground floor. Doggies get free dog biscuits handmade locally and mine loved them! The beach walks are great when the tide is out you can access up to Bacton and down to Cart gap where there is a cafe , smallsticks, on the road out of cart gap. The owner leaves high tide times on board in cottage we are very useful. A visit up the church tower gives great views open sun pm until end of October and lighthouse in summer most weekends or possible private viewing if it can be arranged. Further afield there are many great walks and sites to see in this dog friendly locale .


Jacky, November 2019

We stayed at the lovely Chapel Cottage is Lessingham.....such a lovely well equipped cottage....extremely clean...beds super comfy....super enclosed garden for the dogs....the shower wow....a gorgeous welcome pack too thank you...very close to many good beaches but sea palling which was closest to the cottage was our favourite so clean and calm could walk and did walk for hours....cant wait to stay again...thank you!! X


Louise, November 2019

We stayed at The Lodge for a week from 21 Sept to 28 Sept located in East Ruston. We had a fabulous week with lots of great dog friendly beaches nearby, parks to walk in and other walks all local.

The Lodge itself is great for dogs and has a fully enclosed garden but I would say one of the gates could be jumped over if you have an escape artist but ours never bothered. It's quiet with very little to bother us and our doggy. We felt a week wasn't long enough and wish we had booked longer. Lots of things to see and do with your four legged friends.


Carol, November 2019

Just had our 5th visit to Holmes House Pete and our 4 border collies enjoyed our week again. Lovely house and walks close by. Beach and sand dunes and some lovely meals out. Waiting for next year now.


sue, November 2019

A lovely week in the lodge. Secure garden and everything you need for a dog friendly stay. Bowls towels dog shower. Nearby beaches and the weavers way. Everyone so friendly.


Your review here?

Have you visited East Ruston Cottages before? If so, why not consider leaving a review?

Write A Review